Thursday, September 20, 2007

Olympics Qualifiers. Phew !!!

The teams already qualified for 2008 Beijing Olympics are:

For Men

Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Korea, Netherlands, Pakistan, South Africa, Spain.

For Women

Argentina, Australia, China, Germany, Great Britain, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa.

FIH is going to organize three tournaments with 18 teams and the champions of each of the tournaments will qualify for the 2008 Beijing Olympics. India is placed in an easier group, Thanks to our Asia Cup triumph. We need to defeat Great Britain to win the tournament, rest all look like a walk in the park. We have defeated Great Britain twice in the Champion's Challenge tournament in June, this year.

There will be three tournaments for Men, New Zealand, Chile and Japan. India plays in Chile. I didn't know Chile even had a had an Astro Turf, what talk about having a Hockey team.

North Shore City, Auckland, New Zealand – 02/10 February 2008

Argentina, Cuba, France, Ireland, New Zealand and Trinidad & Tobago. This is going to be tough for Argentina and New Zealand. Going to be fun in this tournament. :-)

Santiago, Chile – 01/09 March 2008

Austria, Bangladesh, Chile, Egypt, Great Britain and India. Austria, Bangladesh, Chile and Egypt would be really easy based on our recent form. Great Britain would be little difficult. We should play few tournaments before we go to Chile in March next year.

Kakamigahara, Japan – 05/13 April 2008

Czech Republic, Germany, Japan, Malaysia, Poland, Switzerland

The reserve nations for the tournaments (in order) are: (1) Netherlands Antilles (2) USA (3) Mexico


Baku, Azerbaijan – 12/20 April 2008

Azerbaijan, Belarus, Chile, Kenya, Spain and Ukraine

Kazan, Russia – 19/27 April 2008

Belgium, Chinese Taipei, India, Netherlands Antilles, Russia and USA. India can win this tournamnt if we in against USA and Belgium.

Victoria, Canada – 26 April/04 May 2008

Canada, Cuba, Ireland, Italy, Korea and Malaysia

The reserve nations for these tournaments (in order) are: (1) France, (2) Uruguay and (3) Barbados.

Lets keep the fingers crossed and lets hope we qualify for 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Cheerssssssss... Chakkkkkk De Indiaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!



chatterbox,  6:22 PM, September 20, 2007  

Canada plays hockey??!?!?! I didnt know that...
USA and Mecixo too?? And Azerbaijan, Belarus????????????????????

Chal jis kisi ke saath bhi khele, we'll support our team. Chak de!

Khelne wala khel rahega
Roknewale fail rahega
Jo zyaada marode mooch
Chaat le jaake bhains ki poonch!

  © Free Blogger Templates Blogger Theme by 2008

Back to TOP